Dr. Daniel Buysse Elected to Association of American Physicians

Daniel Buysse, MD, UPMC Professor of Sleep Medicine and Professor of Psychiatry and Clinical and Translational Science, has been elected to the Association of American Physicians (AAP). He will be recognized at a formal dinner held during the organization’s annual meeting on Saturday, April 21, 2018 at the Fairmont Hotel in Chicago, IL. “I am honored to be elected to such a prestigious organization,” he said. “Even more than a personal accomplishment, my election to the AAP tells me that sleep and circadian science is now recognized as an integral part of the biomedical field.”

Dr. Buysse’s areas of focus include sleep assessment and patient-reported outcomes, evaluation, pathophysiology and treatment of insomnia, and sleep in aging. He is the program director of a federally funded T32 program, “Translational Research Training in Sleep Medicine,” and serves on the training faculty of two other T32 programs and the institutional KL2 program through the Clinical and Translational Science Institute. He chairs the Steering Committee of the University of Pittsburgh Center for Sleep and Circadian Science, a multidisciplinary group of faculty and trainees who aim to advance the science and practice of sleep and circadian medicine through innovations in research, education, and clinical care.

Dr. Buysse also serves as Chair of the Department of Psychiatry Research Review Committee and is a member of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine, Sleep Research Society, and American Medical Association. He received a University of Pittsburgh Innovator Award and the Nathaniel Kleitman Distinguished Service Award from the American Academy of Sleep Medicine. He is Deputy Editor of SLEEP and a Past President of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine. He has been recognized as a “Top Doctor” in Best Doctors in America®, America’s Top Doctors, Pittsburgh Magazine, and US News & World Report.

The AAP was founded in 1885 for the advancement of scientific and practical medicine. Members are competitively selected by the Council of the Association and are among the leading senior physician scientists in the United States, Canada, and other countries. The goals of its members include the pursuit of medical knowledge and the advancement through experimentation and discovery of basic and clinical science and their application to clinical medicine.

Congratulations to Dr. Buysse on this honor!